About APG


The APG has a permanent and a rotating Co-Chair. The permanent chair is held by Australia, as host and supporting member jurisdiction of the Secretariat, and the rotating chair is appointed for a two-year term by the membership. The current Co-Chairs are Deputy Commissioner Leanne Close (Australia) and Mr D.M.Rupasinghe (Sri Lanka).

Deputy Commissioner Leanne Close (Australia) - appointed 2015

Deputy Commissioner Leanne Close (Australia) - appointed 2015

Deputy Commissioner Leanne Close APM joined the Australian Federal Police (AFP) in 1986 and currently holds the position of Deputy Commissioner Operations. Her current role encompasses management of more than 2600 staff members, including Crime Operations, Organised Crime, Cyber and International Operations.

Deputy Commissioner Close has held a number of different positions in the AFP during her career including working in the Sydney Office from 1986 to 1996 investigating a range of Commonwealth offences involving major frauds and serious drug importations.  She also worked in the AFP College in Canberra for six years.  In 2002, she moved to ACT (Australian Commonwealth Territory) policing in which she performed several leadership roles.  In early 2009, she was appointed as National Manager Protection and promoted to the rank of Assistant Commissioner. She has also held the positions of National Manager Human Resources and National Manager Aviation, prior to her promotion to her current role.

In 2005, Deputy Commissioner Close was awarded the Australian Police Medal (APM).

Deputy Commissioner Close holds a Masters of Educational Leadership and two Graduate Certificates in Professional Development Education and Applied Management.  She was appointed APG Co-Chair in July 2015.

Mr D M Rupasinghe (Sri Lanka) - appointed 2017

Mr D M Rupasinghe (Sri Lanka) - appointed 2017

Mr D.M.Rupasinghe was reappointed as Director-FIU Sri Lanka on 19 December 2017 by Central Bank of Sri Lanka. He was Additional Director of FIU- Sri Lanka during July 2008- June 2009 and appointed as Director of FIU-Sri Lanka on 11 August 2009 and served in this position till July 2014. Before his appointment as Additional Director of FIU, he served in the Economic Research Department and Public Debt Department of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka as Senior Economist and Deputy Superintendent respectively. Since mid-July 2014, Mr Ruapsinghe held many senior positions in the Central Bank of Sri Lanka including Controller of Exchange, Director of Regional Offices Management, Director of the Centre for Banking Studies, Director of Macroprudential Surveillance and the Superintendent of Public Debt. Mr D. M. Rupasinghe joined the Central Bank of Sri Lanka on 16 January 1986.

Mr  Ruapsinghe has also held a number of different positions in important institutions in Sri Lanka during his career including member of the Board of Directors of the Gem and Jewellery Authority of Sri Lanka; member of the Working Group on International Trade Facilitation at the WTO; and in Sri Lanka Customs. He was also the Country Researcher for the Research Project on Socio-economic Impacts of Hydro-metrological Disasters, UN-ESCAP-Thailand.

Mr Rupasinghe holds a Master of Economics degree from Colorado State University in the United States.

Previous Co-chairs

Previous rotating Co-Chairs have come from the following APG members:

  • Philippines, Department of Foreign Affairs, 1998-2000;
  • Malaysia, Central Bank of Malaysia, 2000-2002;
  • Korea, Korea Financial Intelligence Unit, 2002-2004;
  • Japan, Japan Financial Intelligence Office, Financial Services Agency, 2004-2006;
  • Indonesia, Indonesian Financial Transaction Reports and Analysis Centre, 2006-2008;
  • Singapore, Commercial Affairs Department, 2008-2010;
  • India, Directorate of Enforcement, 2010-2012;
  • China, Anti-Money Laundering Bureau of the People’s Bank of China, 2012-2014;
  • New Zealand, Ministry of Justice, 2014-2016.

Future Co-Chairs

Future Co-Chair, 2018-2020:   Bangladesh

Bangladesh was formally endorsed by the APG Membership out-of-session in September 2014 as the Co-Chair for 2018-2020.  Bangladesh hosted the 13th APG Typologies Workshop in 2010 and has hosted a number of other APG workshops.  Bangladesh will host an Annual Meeting during its two-year term as Co-Chair.