About APG

Organisational Structure

Under the APG Terms of Reference 2019 the APG is structured as follows:

  • Membership; 
  • Co-Chairs; 
  • Governance Committee;
  • Mutual Evaluation Committee and Operations Committee;
  • Secretariat.


The criteria for admission as a member jurisdiction of APG is based on the Terms of Reference. Any jurisidiction with a presence in the Asia/Pacific region which:

  1. Recognises the need to combat money laundering, terrorist financing and proliferation financing;
  2. Recognises the benefits to be obtained by sharing knowledge and experience;
  3. Takes active steps to develop, enact and implement anti-money laundering and anti-terrorist financing legislation and other measures based on accepted international standards;
  4. Commits to implement APG decisions;
  5. Commits to participate in the APG's mutual evaluation programme; and
  6. Contributes to the APG budget,

all without reservation, may be considered as a member jurisdiction. As of 2023 almost all Asia/Pacific countries and jurisdictions (with the exception of very few) had become members. 

It is not a precondition for membership that anti-money laundering, anti-terrorist financing and/or anti-proliferation financing laws be enacted at the time of membership application. However, most members will, on joining, have such laws in place and those that do not are required, as a membership obligation, to enact them very shortly after admission.

Terms of Reference

Terms of Reference

The constitutional document of the APG is the APG Terms of Reference, first adopted by its 13 founding members in 1997 and then substantially amended in July 2012 to reflect the growth in APG membership to 42 member jurisdictions. It was substantially amended again in 2022 with minor amendments since then to improve governance arrangements and reporting requirements. The founding members of the APG are:

  • Australia
  • Bangladesh
  • China, People's Republic
  • Hong Kong, China
  • Japan
  • New Zealand
  • Philippines
  • Singapore
  • Sri Lanka
  • Chinese Taipei
  • Thailand
  • United States of America
  • Vanuatu

The APG's mandate is fixed by inter-Ministerial agreement until 2028. The APG engages with the international community and private sector to promote a consistent global response to money laundering, terrorist financing and proliferation financing.